Speakers & Workshops

We are excited to announce the following special guests and speakers for the 2nd annual Time to THRIVE conference in Portland, Oregon. Additional special guests, speakers will be announced soon.

Betty DeGeneres, Jazz Jennings & Constance McMillen

Our workshop proposal process has closed for the 2nd annual Time to THRIVE conference. Thank you to those who submitted before our September 12th deadline. All workshop applicants will be notified of acceptance status via email by November 7, 2014 — All presenters will receive discounted presenter rates and must register before December 6, 2014. To register now, click here.

We are currently finalizing the 2015 workshop schedule and will update the following list in late November.

If you have questions regarding conference workshops, please contact us at TimeToThrive@hrc.org.

Workshops presented at our inaugural conference last February included: 

What’s a Provider to Do? A Preconference For Beginners
 True Colors, Inc.

The Common Core Standards meet Anti-Bias, Social justice Standards: A New Approach for K-12 Education
 Human Rights Campaign Foundation & Teaching Tolerance

Interventions Supporting the Psychological Well-Being and Health of LGBT Youth
 American Psychological Association

The Power of Youth Voices: Becoming an Adult Ally 
GSA Network

Asking about Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity: Why & How
 True Colors Fund

Safe Spaces include Safer Sex: How to Have Honest and Unbiased Safer Sex/Sexual Health Conversations With LGBTQ Youth
 Safe Spaces Project

We Have a Transgender Student Coming to School.  Now what?
 Trans Youth Family Allies

Policy Protections in Child Welfare: If Utah Can Do It, So Can Your State
 Utah Pride Center

Standards of Care to Promote Safety, Inclusion, and Well-Being for LGBTQ Youth
 American Institutes for Research

Los Muchach@s Queer y La Familia
 Lambda Legal

Bias, Bullying and Bystanders: A short film and discussion
Welcoming Schools, Human Rights Campaign Foundation

Innovative Strategies for Addressing LGBTQ Youth Homelessness 
True Colors Fund

Unheard Voices: Integrating LGBT History, People and Events into Middle and High School Curricula
 Anti-Defamation League

Harm of Reparative Therapy and Efforts to Enact Bans 
National Center for Lesbian Rights & The Trevor Project

National HIV/AIDS Strategy: Building the Professional Social Work Response Through Treatment and Advocacy 
National Association of Social Workers

Full Service Support:  The Child and Adolescent Gender Center 
Gender Spectrum

Creating Safe Environments to Prevent Bullying: RFK Project SEATBELT and the Safe School Certification Program
 Robert F. Kennedy for Justice and Human Rights

Thinking Upstream: Building Coalitions to Reduce Health Inequities Among LGBTQ Youth 
Children's Hospital Los Angeles

Improving the Legal Lives of LGBTQ Youth within the Juvenile Justice System 
American Bar Association

A La Familia - A Conversation About Latin@ Families, the Bible, Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity 
Religion and Faith Program, Human Rights Campaign Foundation

Connect, Accept, Respond, Empower: Innovative Strategies and Resources for Supporting LGBTQ Youth
 The Trevor Project

Effective Strategies to Build Partnerships Within Schools
 Project Spin:  Los Angeles LGBT Center

Strategies for Empowering Black Gay Youth for HIV Prevention
 Georgia Equality

Successful Gender Transitions in School
Gender Spectrum

Stories of Rural Youth Matter 
Matthew Shepard Foundation and Outright Vermont

Supporting & Serving LGBTQ Youth in Out-of-Home Care 
All Children, All Families Project, Human Rights Campaign Foundation

Ward v. Wilbanks & Keeton v. Anderson-Wiley: Can Professional Counselors Use Religious Beliefs As The Basis For Refusing To See LGBTQ Clients? 
American Counseling Association

Faith and Famly:  A Conversation on Faith and Family Acceptance 
Religion and Faith Program, Human Rights Campaign Foundation

Enhancing Resiliency Among LGBT Youth 
The Trevor Project

Creating an LGBT-inclusive School Climate
 Teaching Tolerance

Know the Law – Improve your Advocacy
 ACLU & Lambda Legal

School-Based HIV/STD Prevention for LGBTQ Adolescents - National Strategies and Perspectives
 Center for Disease Control and Prevention

Working with Parents of Trans* and Gender-Nonconforming Children

Community-Based Approaches to Youth Development Panel

Skill Building for Counselors and School-Based Mental Health Professionals 
American Counseling Association

Teen Dating Violence Experiences of LGBT Youth
Urban Institute

Opening Hearts to Open Minds & Build Healthy Futures for LGBT Youth
 Family Acceptance Project

Panel Discussion with U.S. Federal Agencies
 U.S. Department of Education, U.S. Department of Justice and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

HRC Research:  Growing Up LGBT in America 
Children, Youth & Families Project, Human Rights Campaign Foundation

Campus Pride Index: Finding a LGBT-Friendly College
Campus Pride

Out of the Closet and into the Classroom: Tough Choices for Educators
American Federation of Teachers

Focus on Oregon: LGBTQ Inclusive Sexuality Education, in the Classroom and Beyond 
Oregon Department of Education

A Place to Thrive:  What Many LGBT Youth Need Most 
Faith in America

Everything You've Always Wanted to Know But Had No One to Ask:  Starting a Youth/Teen Transgender Clinic
 Cincinnati Children Hospital

Working with PFLAG: The Family Voice in Your Local Community Supporting Educators, Administrators and LGBTQ Youth to Make School Better for Everyone 

The Trevor Lifeguard Workshop
 The Trevor Project

What Do You Say To, "That's So Gay!" and Other Teachable Moments in PreK-Elementary School Education
 Welcoming Schools, Human Rights Campaign Foundation

Online Safety for LGBTQ Youth and Best Practices to Deal with Cyberbullying
 LGBT Technology Partnerships

Interventions for LGBTQ Bullied Youth
 Affirmative Foundations

Working Together to Help LGBTQ Students Thrive: A Dialogue with the NEA 
National Education Association

Families: The Missing Link in Preventing Suicide, Homelessness, HIV & Other Health Risks & Building Healthy Futures for LGBT Youth 
Family Acceptance Project

Transgender Youth & The Media
 Transgender Law Center

Looking Beyond the Rainbow: Engaging & Supporting LGBTQQ Students of Color
 University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

The Police and You: Working Together to Protect Our LGBTQ Youth
 New York City Police Department

How to Have an Awesome GSA
 GSA Network

Successfully Encouraging Conversations about Gender Identity & Sexual Orientation with Diverse (RACE, AGE, RELIGION, & SOCIO-ECONOMIC) Audiences
 Welcoming Schools, Human Rights Campaign Foundation


For questions regarding workshops, please contact TimeToThrive@hrc.org